Palace Demesne

Situated within walking distance of the City Centre, for over two hundred years the undulating parkland of the Palace Demesne has been one of the glories of Armagh.  The Demesne, comprising some 300 acres, is the creation of Archbishop Richard Robinson.  The Palace was the residence of the Archbishops of the Church of Ireland from 1770 to 1975.

The walks around the Demesne vary in distance and effort, taking you into the back meadows and around the more formal gardens.  There is also a chance to relax in the ‘Garden of the Senses’ created to provide a sensory experience that will appeal to both able-bodied and disabled visitors, the garden is made up of five distinct areas linked by a winding path.

There is also a restaurant and coffee shop within the grounds called the Moody Boar.

Facilities

Café
Toilets
Family and Children
Picnic area.
Parking

Opening Hours

Open all year round.

Charges

Access: 

No charge.

Parking: 

No charge.

Getting There

By car

Located on the Friary Road in Armagh - follow brown heritage signs.

Walk Trails

Circular, 3.4 miles

Highway to Health, Armagh (A). Takes in the city of Armagh.

Circular, 2.7 miles

Highway to Health, Armagh (B). Takes in the city of Armagh.

Comments

Be the first to comment on this venue. Complete the form below.

Contact

(028) 3752 1800

Location

The Palace Demesne
Armagh

This site is funded
courtesy of
Big Lottery Fund Ulster Garden Villages
Enjoyed this site? Why not check out...
Outdoor NIWalk NICycle NICanoe NIMTB NIDiscover Northern IrelandFacebookTwitter